street lights.

The kids have a ABC book of Bible verses. It is a darling book, and it has become one of Bubba’s favorites. So we have read it over and over and over. And over.

One of the verses talks about how God is light.

“God is light.” 1 John 1:5

Late the other night, I was driving home with the kids. Little man had fallen asleep so it was just me and Sweetie Belle listening to music and to the sound of the road.

We were on the highway, passing the street lights. You know how they splash across the hood of the car? The splash of light, then a slow fade as they dim out in the rearview mirror. Until you reach the next. Then, a splash of light and the fade.  Almost in their own rhythm. The hum of the roads, the spacing of the lights. The splash and the fade. The light and the dark.

As we were driving, Sweetie Belle asked out of the blue, “Is God a light like that?”

It took my brain a second to catch up. A light? Like what?

Ah. “God is light.” 1 John 1:5. A light like the lights we were driving past.

(Sometimes toddler logic and stream of consciousness is very challenging to keep track of.)

“He is light, Baby. Not quite a light like that though. Thats a really good question. Really good…”

I trailed off. Because as simple as the concept is, it is rather hard to explain it to a toddler. The Bible is covered with verse about how God is light, but somehow quoting scripture didn’t seem to pare it down for my sweet Girl.

“When Jesus spoke again to the people he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness but will have the light of life.” John 8:12

“Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.” Psalm 119:105

“The Lord is my light and my salvation.” Psalm 27:1

“I will turn darkness into light.” Isaiah 42:6

“Then shall your light break forth like the dawn, and your healing shall spring up speedily; your righteousness shall go before you; the glory of the Lord shall be your rear guard.” Isaiah 58:8

“As long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world.” John 9:5

“For it is you who light my lamp; the Lord my God lightens my darkness.” Psalm 18:28

Sweetie Belle knows two states: light and darkness. And darkness is scary at her age. It can be scary at my age too.

I have been feasting on John 1:5: “The Light shines in darkness and the darkness has not overcome it.”

I did this experiment with the girls I work with not too long ago.

I was standing on a lit stage, in a dark room. And I had a lantern. If I walked out into the dark audience, and scooped up some darkness, trapped it in my lantern, and walked back onto the lit stage, the darkness was snuffed out as soon as it touched the light. There was no way I could capture the darkness and have it make any impact at all when faced with the light.

I then had them turn off every single stage light, and the room become eerily dark and was met with squeals from little girls. When I lit a candle, suddenly and slowly, the light touched every corner of the room. One tiny flame, made things clearer. It wasn’t as light as day, it wasn’t as light as if overhead lights were on, but none the less, that one tiny flame permeated every inch of darkness in that room.

See, the darkness has no power over the light. It has no power in the light. Confronted with Light, darkness simply does not stand a chance.

But. The tiniest flame in the darkness room has the ability to shed light on every corner of it. Darkness cannot change the light. But light can certainly change the darkness.

Try it. Try to take darkness into the light and see if the darkness impacts the light. See if darkness can stand up to the light. Try it.

Then try it with the light. Get it as dark as you can and then watch how the tiniest flame is more powerful than a roomful of darkness.

 

The second part of that 1 John 1:5 verse is this: “God is light. In Him there is no darkness at all.”

No darkness at all.

So that is what we are working on knowing down in our bones for when the world feels a bit too dark, or when the day feels a bit dark, or when things actually are dark – that God is light. But not like a light that we can walk away from or switch off. He is all the time, always, forever LIGHT. In Him there is no darkness at all.

How could there be? His light would snuff it right out.

In His Light,

katie

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

