beneath.

 

You know the 10am hour at the beach?

Surfers have cleared out, but the people who place any value on sleep (or donuts, or breakfast out) probably haven’t quite made it down yet. There is almost a hush on the shoreline, and simultaneously the buzz of all that the day could hold.

It was just such a morning last summer, when those of us that were there stood awe-struck on the shore as a pod of dolphins swam by. The largest pod of dolphins I have ever seen. They just went on and on and on and more and more and more kept appearing.

It felt like everyone stood with their toes to the waters edge with bated breath, taking it all in.

As the dolphins cleared out, people again entered the water, and the morning beach rituals resumed – setting up tents, lathering up in sunscreen, throwing beach toys all asunder.

The morning rhythm was once again interrupted by the scream of the life guard’s whistle as he signaled at a dad and two young children to come in. The dad couldn’t have been more than waist deep. And there was no obvious sign of trouble – they weren’t too far out, there wasn’t a rip tide. But the dad immediately grabbed his kids and stepped onto the shore as his daughter grew frantic.

The dad’s feet had no sooner hit dry ground than an enormous dolphin popped up right where he had been standing seconds before.

I was close enough to the life guard’s chair that I commented, “Whoa. Good call.”

He turned to me and calmly explained that from his chair, he could see the dolphin circling the dad and his kids beneath the water. And while the dolphin wouldn’t intentionally hurt them, even just bumping into them could end badly.

The guard’s view from up above, gave him perspective of what was going on beneath. So far beneath, that even those that were in it, didn’t have perspective of what was brewing around them.

His directive might have seemed confusing, even alarming. But he knew what he was doing. He saw what was unfolding and he knew he could do something about it – if, and it was a big if, those that he was directing, heeded his advice.

Do you see where I am going with this?

I think I stood a bit slack jawed on the beach that day. Contemplating the powerful simile.

Here is the thing. Today, I am 10 kinds of confused about the directions the Lord has given me. Confused about what to do and how to do and mostly, why.

The Lord is being clear, but His clear direction don’t mean it makes sense to me.

Forgive how on the nose this is, but His view from up above is giving Him perspective that I don’t see. Even while I am here in it. He sees what is unfolding around me, the situation brewing around me. He sees my circumstance with a fullness that I don’t. And the best I can do, is obey.

His picture is always clearer than mine. His perspective is always better. His plan is always good. He always has my best interest at heart and He directs my steps accordingly.

He is always worth listening too, always worth obeying, always worth heeding.

who announces the end from the beginning and reveals beforehand what has not yet occurred, who says, ‘My plan will be realized, I will accomplish what I desire,’ [Isaiah 46:10]

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
 in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.” [Proverbs 3:5-6]

Love,

katie

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

