top ten.

1.) We are building a home. We had a tour last week they call the “behind the walls” tour. We got to see everything behind the walls before they put up dry wall. It was a neat experience, but my favorite part? I brought a Sharpie and scribbled scripture all over the framing. Every verse I could think of before my Sharpie bit the dust, on every blank corner of 2″x4″ I could find. It felt so rich to try to put my own literal spin on Deuteronomy 6.

Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.” [Deuteronomy 6]

2017-04-06_15-56-46_107

(Disclaimer: I was using the word “scribble” literally.)

2.) My sweet daughter has a new phrase she uses, “Well that is hiwariousing.” (Her combination for “hilarious” and “embarrassing”.) Feel free to borrow that and use as needed.

3.) I got a new Bible with poppies on it, and I am just tickled over it. A few years ago I was challenged to come up with a thing that generally reminds me of God’s love for me. Almost like a personal totem, or Ebenezer – that points me to who I am and Whose I am and how loved I am. For me, it’s poppies. (If you have never thought about it, it might be fun thing to think about.)

4.) This picture of Bubba at Chick Fil A. I cannot even. Because goodness knows, that is how I feel about Chick Fil A, too – please give me alllll the Chick Fil A.

2017-03-28_18-01-52_229

5.) My new, most favorite Coffee Creamer. One can of coconut milk, blended with a splash of vanilla and a teaspoon of dark cocoa powder. I mix it at the beginning of the week and add a bit to my coffee each day. It is the most perfect creamer I have ever had. A little coconutty, a little chocolatey, and plenty of coffee.

6.) Ann Voskamp’s book “The Broken Way.” Oh man. This has ministered to my soul and challenged me in ways I can’t even explain. I could share quote after quote, but the one I am currently clinging too is this: “The state of your home does not reflect the state of your soul.” I don’t know if your home is similar to mine, but we are in a season of mess and transition and I needed a reminder that the quality of my soul is not defined by the quality of my home. That my ability or inability to vacuum today, or clean up toys for the 50th time since breakfast is not a direct reflection of my value before the Lord. I hope that blesses you like it blessed me.

7.) “He will cover you with His feathers, under His wings you will find refuge.” Psalm 91:4

8.) “God is too good to be unkind. He is too wise to be mistaken. When we cannot trace His hand, we must trust His heart.” [Charles Spurgeon]

9.) I took my best girl to the Caps game the other night. It was probably the most fun I have ever had with her. She was all sweetness and spunk and glee and at the end of the night she whispered in my ear, “Thanks for being my best girl Momma, and thanks for taking me to the Caps game.” 2017-04-09_18-28-39_227

10.) “I Have this Hope” by Tenth Avenue North. This has been my anthem. It’s been on repeat, as loud as it will go, as hard as my heart can belt it. We have this hope, Amen.

 

With Love,

Katie

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “top ten.

  1. Erica Hudson

    blockquote, div.yahoo_quoted { margin-left: 0 !important; border-left:1px #715FFA solid !important; padding-left:1ex !important; background-color:white !important; } Thanks for this. I go back and read the ones I’ve missed for encouragement. I so appreciate you sharing.

    Sent from Yahoo Mail for iPhone

Leave a Reply

